In its approach of Yoga, ADITYAM invites you to explore different techniques, such as Vinyasa Yoga - dynamic practice of postures, Yin Yoga, a softer and more static approach and Yoga Nidra, which achieves a state of deep relaxation, in order to enable you to explore the different sheaths of your personality ... physical, emotional, mental.

THe royal PATH oF yoga

The Royal Yoga covers all levels of practice of Yoga from postures to mantras, through breath control and meditation. According to Patanjali, Yoga is the cessation of mental automatic fluctuations. By this, one must understand the complete control of all levels of consciousness. It is only from this total control that can emerge the knowledge of the Self, beyond all manifestations. To achieve this level of control, we need to achieve to control the body, the senses, breath, and all external aspects of our personal and social life.

The eight limbs Yoga (Ashtau Anga) are:
1 - Yama: social rules
2 - Niyama: rules of personal conduct
3 - Asanas: physical postures
4 - Pranayama: control of the vital breath
5 - Pratyahara: withdrawal of the senses
6 - Dharana: concentration (mind control)
7 - Dhyana: meditation
8 - Samadhi: absorption

The first 5 limbs are the external aspect of Yoga, the first two refer to the right attitude, values and lifestyle necessary for the practice of Yoga. The following 3 refer to the means to monitor the external aspects of our nature: the body, the breath, the senses. The last 3 are called Samyama or integration and work together. In association with Ayurveda, Yoga harmonizes the body and Prana (Vital Breath) to enable us to be able to meditate.


Ayurveda literally means Science of Life. It has its sources in the "Veda", set of sacred texts of ancient India. As a natural medicine, Ayurveda offers a holistic approach. It is based on the existence of five elements: Earth, Water, Fire, Air, Ether forming the universe. One of the principles of Ayurveda is the balance of the three humors called "Doshas": Vata, Pitta, Kapha.

Ayurveda is based on several principles:
1- lifestyle: it aligns the individual with his/her environment;
2- Food: good digestion and proper assimilation;
3- The use of natural remedies;
4- A more preventive than curative approach;
5- Consideration of the disease as the result of a wrong diet, poor understanding of the universe, or of a lack of harmony between body and mind.

The practice of Yoga was also required to promote the balance of 3 moods or "Doshas". Yoga and Ayurveda are two twin sets sciences developed together and have influenced each other throughout history. Yoga is the science of self-realization, while Ayurveda is the science of healing the Self, whose goal is to relieve body and mind diseases (spiritual healing).

Yoga and Ayurveda are both based on the principle of inner peace. Yoga and Ayurveda emphasize on the development of "Sattva":
- In Yoga, "Sattva" is the highest quality for spiritual growth;
- In Ayurveda, "Sattva" is the quality of balance for healing.

Vinyasa Yoga

In Sanskrit, the term "Vinyasa" must be understood from its two etymological roots: "Nyasa", meaning "place" and "Vi" meaning "in some way". The principle of "Vinyasa" based on the synchronization of movements with the breath. The movements related to inspirations and expirations, follow the rhythm of breath, occur harmoniously and promote the expression of the body, as a dance. This results in a fluid, powerful and dynamic way to put the body in motion, which is why it is sometimes called "Vinyasa Flow Yoga".

The "Vinyasa Yoga" began with a yogi, Sri T. Krishnamacharya who taught his students the power of breathing. From a physical point of view, "Vinyasa Yoga" helps to eliminate toxins and to energize the body. From a mental point of view, synchronized breathing calms the mind, enables to focus and to release the energetic blockages. During the "Vinyasa Yoga" include the sun salutations and many movements synchronized with the breath.

Thus the body set in motion performs a dance whose music is the sound of the breath. "Vinyasa Yoga" is not a specific routine such as can be other practices in motion. It offers the advantage to explore many yoga postures, depending on your level of skill and your needs, according to a personalized approach.

Yin Yoga

Coming Taoist techniques, Yin Yoga is a gentle approach of yoga postures. The majority of positions are on the floor and held for several minutes. Using the force of gravity and the breath, it becomes possible to go deeper into the postures, releasing the physical body and all forms of resistance, including mental resistance. This practice stretches the deep muscles and connective tissues. It provides a deep feeling of relaxation and wellbeing. It prepares to relaxation and meditation.

yoga Nidra

Derived from Tantra, Yoga Nidra is a method that induces complete relaxation both physical, mental and emotional. It is a powerful conscious relaxation tool for entering deep within ourselves. In Raja Yoga or Royal Yoga of Patanjali, there is a state called the Prathyahara or withdrawal of the senses in which the conscious mind is separated from sensory pathways. Yoga Nidra is one aspect of Prathyahara. In this he enables to achieve a high level of concentration and absorption into meditation.

The regular practice of Yoga Nidra allows, by the rotation of consciousness in different parts of the body to relax more effectively. Once the physical body is relaxed, it is easier to release the emotional and mental tensions. Once these tensions released, it becomes possible to explore the psyche, creating the change within ourselves, sharpen concentration and memory, and even to experience altered states of consciousness. 

Yoga Nidra is Yoga of sleep, after we get rid of what encumbers us. In this he is a true blessing. While sleep is merely a relaxation of the mind and senses, Yoga Nidra, as a blessing, as a relaxation of the soul. That is why it is considered in Tantra Yoga as the path to Realization.
— Swami Satyananda Saraswati